Thursday, April 10, 2014

Roundup's slide into mediocrity continues

Maybe we missed it.  We don't read the Payson Roundup very often.  

But last September, the Arizona Newspaper Association held its annual competition - the one where the Roundup usually trumpets its accomplishments on its front page.  

Here is the official press release issued by the ANA announcing the winners.  The Roundup did not win best non-daily.  And a search through the separate categories in the competition reveals a most mediocre showing for the paper that used to maintain a high standard of excellence.

ANA Announces 2013 BNC Winners
The Arizona Republic (daily newspaper) and Arizona Capitol Times (non-daily newspaper) took home the coveted award for Arizona Newspaper of the Year during the Arizona Newspapers Association’s 2013 Better Newspapers Contest. Newspaper of the Year awards are calculated from honors won in the Excellence in Advertising Contest added together with winning entries from the Better Newspapers Contest.

Kelly Presnell, Arizona Daily Sun, and Tim Hacker, East Valley Tribune, were named the ANA 2013 Photographers of the Year. Dennis Wagner, The Arizona Republic and J.D. Long-Garcia, The Catholic Sun, were named the ANA 2013 Journalists of the Year.

This year, 53 newspapers entered in the Better Newspapers Contest for a total of 1,360 entries. The Better Newspapers Contest consists of nine categories that measure the overall quality of the newspapers and 18 categories that honor individuals who contribute to journalism excellence. A special thanks to the Nevada Press Association, for judging the entries this year.

No comments: